Special Holidays & Community Wide Celebrations

Join us as we celebrate the Jewish holidays and festivals and come together as a family!

Check our calendar to see details about special events and programs.

2016 HHD Cover

High Holy Days Services Click here for this year’s High Holy Days Schedule

Family Dinner in the Sukkah

Simchat Torah Consecration

Purim Celebration & Megilah Reading

Passover Family Seder (2nd night)

Israel Independence Day Celebration


DSC_1584 edit

Rosh Hashanah: 1 Tishri

Rosh Hashanah falls on the 1st day of Tishri, the seventh month of the Hebrew calendar. Rosh Hashanah marks the first of the Yamim Noraim (Days of Awe), during which Jews repent for their sins against God or against their fellow human beings.
Yom Kippur: 10 Tishri

Falling on the 10th day of Tishri, Yom Kippur is the climax of the Jewish High Holy Days. Also known as the Day of Atonement, Yom Kippur is observed through 25 hours of repentance, atonement, prayer, and fasting.

Sukkot: 15 Tishri

One of the three pilgrimage festivals, Sukkot, like Pesah and Shavuot, has both historical and agricultural significance. Falling on the 15th day of Tishri, five days after Yom Kippur, Sukkot commemorates the ancient Jews’ 40 years of desert wandering and of living in temporary shelters and the agricultural harvest. Sukkot means “booths” and refers to the temporary dwellings in which Jews must live for seven days to remind us of the years of wandering.
Shemini Atzeret: 22 Tishri

Celebrated on the 22nd day of Tishri, Shemini Atzeret means “the Eighth (day) of Assembly,” and it follows the seventh day of Sukkot. The sukkah is no longer needed for this holiday, so during the cantor’s repetition of the Musaf Amidah, the Geshem prayer is recited with a request for rain.

Simhat Torah: 23 Tishri

Observed on the 23rd day of Tishri outside of Israel, Simhat Torah marks the conclusion of the annual cycle of public Torah readings and the start of a new cycle. Translated as “rejoicing with the Torah,” Simhat Torah involves joyous processions in which all the Torah scrolls are carried around the synagogue in seven symbolic circuits or hakafot.

Hanukkah: 25 Kislev

Also known as the Festival of Lights, Hanukkah is observed for eight days, beginning on the 25th day of Kislev. “Hanukkah” derives from the Hebrew for “dedication” or “consecration,” referring to the Second Temple’s rededication in Jerusalem during the Maccabean Revolt of the second century B.C.E. against Antiochus IV Epiphanes.

Tu B’Shevat: 15 Shevat

Tu B’Shevat, the New Year for Trees, falls on the 15th day of the Hebrew month of Shevat. Jewish tradition marks the 15th of Shevat as the day when the sap in the trees begins to rise, signaling the earth’s awakening from its winter slumber, and heralding the beginning of Spring. Tu B’Shevat is an essential “turn” from the season of darkness (winter/Hanukkah) to the season of light (spring/Passover); from the era of darkness (exile) to the era of light (redemption). Buds that will bring forth fragrant blossoms appear on the trees in Israel at Tu B’Shevat.


Purim: 14 Adar

Celebrated on the 14th day of Adar, Purim commemorates Persian Queen Esther’s rescue of the Jews from Haman’s plans to destroy them, as recounted in Megillat Esther.  To observe Purim, Jews attend a synagogue recitation of the Book of Esther on Erev Purim and on the following morning.

IMG_5147 (2)

Passover: 14-22 Nisan

Passover (Pesach) is celebrated on the 15th day of Nisan and commemorates the Israelites’ escape from slavery and their exodus from Egypt. The term “Passover” refers to the lamb’s blood that the Israelites marked on their doorposts to alert God’s angel of death to pass over them when setting the tenth plague upon the Egyptians.

Yom Hashoah: 27 Nisan

Yom Hashoah, Holocaust Remembrance Day, is observed on the 27th day of Nisan. It is also the anniversary of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising. A moving service and a series of programs are offered throughout the community on that day.

Yom Ha’atzmaut: 6 Iyar

Yom Ha’atzmaut is celebrated on the 5th day of Iyar. This festive holiday commemorates Israel’s declaration of independence by David Ben Gurion on May 14, 1948. Beth David celebrates this joyous day with a special service and festivities.

Lag Ba’Omer: 18 Iyar

On the 18th day of Iyar, we celebrate Lag Ba’Omer to mark the 33rd day of the counting of the Omer. This custom originated in Leviticus 23:15-16 of the Torah, which commands us to count seven full weeks from the day after Pesach to the 49th day, which is Shavuot.

Shavuot: 6-7 Sivan

On Shavuot we commemorate the giving of Torah at Mount Sinai. Shavuot falls seven complete weeks after Passover. The connection between both holidays suggests that freedom cannot exist unless there is law that rules that freedom.

Tisha B’Av: 9 Av

On the 9th day of Av, Jews fast and mourn to commemorate the destruction of both the First and Second Temples. Besides Yom Kippur, it is the only other 24-hour fast. Tisha B’Av marks the end of a three-week mourning period, beginning with the fast of the 17th day of Tammuz, which commemorates the first breach in Jerusalem’s walls.

Check our calendar for holiday program and services times